V is for Volney

This month I am participating in the A-Z Blogging Challenge where I will endeavour to post on this blog each day. It’s my first attempt at the challenge, I hope that I have the stamina to complete it.

I will be going through the Curry forenames in my surname study database from A-Z and,  as per the event schedule, will share some of the articles I have found on Trove relating to Currys. For problem letters like X and Q I may  resort to Google.


Volney Curry is my choice for V as I was fascinated by the name Volney. The Meaning of Names site tells me that Volney is a German name meaning “peoples spirit”.

My CurryAus database tells me that Volney is one of six (that I have identified so far) children of George Curry and Mary Emma Geddes of Cootamundra. Perhaps Mary Emma had German ancestry or maybe the parents just liked the name Volney.

Much I can find about Volney on Trove centres around family weddings.

weddingcakelarge8

In September 1910 Master Volney Curry presented his sister May and her bridegroom, George Powell with a bread plate (1910 ‘WEDDING BELLS.’, Cootamundra Herald (NSW : 1877 – 1954), 13 September, p. 4. , viewed 17 Apr 2016, http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-article144031710).  In 1911 Master Volney Curry gave his brother Reginald and new bride, Eliza McDonald, a sugar basin as a wedding gift (1911 ‘JOY BELLS.’, Cootamundra Herald (NSW : 1877 – 1954), 24 February, p. 4. , viewed 17 Apr 2016, http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-article139579598).

By 1921, when his brother Walter married Edith Ashton ,Volney had risen to be “Best Man”at the event (1921 ‘WEDDING.’, Illawarra Mercury (Wollongong, NSW : 1856 – 1950), 15 July, p. 4. , viewed 17 Apr 2016, http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-article136372138).

It was finally in 1924 that Volney walked down the aisle to greet his bride, Helen Dolina McDougall.

vol1
1924 ‘WEDDINGS.’, Albury Banner and Wodonga Express (NSW : 1896 – 1938), 25 April, p. 27. , viewed 17 Apr 2016, http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-article101527664

There are numerous mentions of the Currys of Cootamundra in the local paper, The Cootamundra Herald (NSW : 1877 – 1954). I will need at least a day to transcribe all the information in obituaries, social columns and news items in that one publication

6 thoughts on “V is for Volney

  1. cassmob

    I’ve never heard of that name before even among my Germans. Looking back at old wedding stories and the gifts I’m always struck by how much more modest they are than they are today.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Pingback: A-Z Roundup | CurryAus

Leave a comment