NSW Government Gazettes

When will I ever find the time to follow these results up?

I was delighted to see that in its latest update Trove, has some beaut new features, an updated look in the newspaper area and one major new resource that has yielded quite a few snippets of information on Australian Currys.

Covering the period from 1832-2000 the New South Wales Government Gazette (Sydney, NSW : 1832 – 1900) and Government Gazette of the State of New South Wales (Sydney, NSW : 1901 – 2001)  provide full text of :

  • Government Gazette Notices
  • Government Gazette Private Notices
  • Government Gazette Proclamations And Legislation
  • Government Gazette Appointments And Employment
  • Government Gazette Tenders And Contracts
  • Government Gazette Index And Contents
  • Government Gazette Budgetary Papers Government Gazette
  • Freedom Of Information
  • and probably some other categories I have missed.

I carried out some preliminary searches to see what I could turn up for Currys

I did a simple search for the word Curry, the surname which is the subject of my surname study,  although I cannot find any results prior to 1880 (must check further to see what the actual coverage is) I found plenty. I will need to narrow down the 1,903 hits I got for this term and slowly work through the results.  The first page of hits promises to be most useful:
http://trove.nla.gov.au/gazette/result?q=curry&l-state=New+South+Wales (accessed 29 February 2016)
Leave a Reply

