J is for Jill

This month I am participating in the A-Z Blogging Challenge where I will endeavour to post on this blog each day. It’s my first attempt at the challenge, I hope that I have the stamina to complete it.

I will be going through the Curry forenames in my surname study database from A-Z and,  as per the event schedule, will share some of the articles I have found on Trove relating to Currys. For problem letters like X and Q I may  resort to Google.


As my given name is Jill I decided to see if I could find any namesakes on Trove (a bit like Googling one’s name isn’t it).

Of course I found my birth notice.

Then there was this Jill  who, from my Troveing, I suspect may have really been Jill Currie from Toorak.

curryjill1

1954 ‘MAINLY ABOUT PEOPLE’, Gilgandra Weekly (NSW : 1942 – 1955), 27 October, p. 4. , viewed 06 Apr 2016, http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-article100345621

In the NSW BDM indexes prior to 1916 I found no births for babies named Jill Curry, no  Jill Curry marriages prior to 1966 and no deaths for anyone named Jill Curry. I’m beginning to feel a bit special!

I don’t really like the name Jill but at least my ancestors should have more hope of finding me in records than if my parents had called me Mary or Patricia (my second name).

5 thoughts on “J is for Jill

  1. lindamaycurry

    Nearly all my family dislike their name but I’m happy with mine and so is my husband John. We find a lot of people with our names from our generation. Jill is a very bright and breezy name. I can’t imagine a bad tempered Jill or a moody Jill.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Dianne Nolin

    I never particularly liked my name. Neither did my Mom really, until she heard it pronounced Di-ANNE instead of DI-ane, which is why I have 2 n’s in my name. Doesn’t really matter, everyone calls me Di …*sigh
    I had a hard time starting on my Granny’s ancestors as George King had married Elizabeth – Do you know how many George King’s married an Elizabeth in Devon in the 1800’s?? And when I search “George King” I get results for “King George” – *another sigh. I actually have it now with the help of a new-found cousin in Australia! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. cassmob

    Oh dear Dianne does have a problem with that combo. You are special Jill, as we all agree, and you’ve made me realise that my name will also help in the dim and distant future, but would you believe there were two with the same first name + surname in Darwin, a city of around 110k people.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Pingback: A-Z Roundup | CurryAus

Leave a Reply

