N is for Nicholas

This month I am participating in the A-Z Blogging Challenge where I will endeavour to post on this blog each day. It’s my first attempt at the challenge, I hope that I have the stamina to complete it.

I will be going through the Curry forenames in my surname study database from A-Z and,  as per the event schedule, will share some of the articles I have found on Trove relating to Currys. For problem letters like X and Q I may  resort to Google.


A long long time ago a gentleman contacted my father because he thought that they shared a Curry ancestor. This was not long after I started researching our family history and it was long before Trove was available. It took me quite a while and some expense to disprove this chap’s assertions and prove that we were descended from Patrick Curry not Nicholas Curry as this gentleman believed.

Although he lived near to my Curry ancestors Nicholas Curry was not related to my branch.The obituaries and information I have found on Trove for Nicholas Curry confirm that I was correct.

currynick4
1905 ‘Cudal Mems.’, Molong Argus (NSW : 1896 – 1921), 1 September, p. 19. , viewed 11 Apr 2016, http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-article144096507

currynick1

1914 ‘Cargo Correspondence.’, Molong Express and Western District Advertiser (NSW : 1887 – 1954), 14 November, p. 9. , viewed 11 Apr 2016, http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-article101392408

currynick3

1914 ‘CARGO.’, Molong Argus (NSW : 1896 – 1921), 13 November, p. 1. , viewed 11 Apr 2016, http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-article101387166

The death notice of Mary Curry (nee Hartigan) Nicholas’s wife gives further information on family members.

currynick2

1922 ‘DEATH OF MRS. CURRY.’,Canowindra Star and Eugowra News (NSW : 1903 – 1907; 1910 – 1922), 9 June, p. 5. , viewed 11 Apr 2016, http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-article99689472

The moral here is don’t take others’research at face value. Check it out for yourself.

 

7 thoughts on “N is for Nicholas

  1. Pingback: A-Z Roundup | CurryAus

Leave a Reply

