O is for Oswald

This month I am participating in the A-Z Blogging Challenge where I will endeavour to post on this blog each day. It’s my first attempt at the challenge, I hope that I have the stamina to complete it.

I will be going through the Curry forenames in my surname study database from A-Z and,  as per the event schedule, will share some of the articles I have found on Trove relating to Currys. For problem letters like X and Q I may  resort to Google.


O is a problem letter. The Curry forenames I have commencing with O are Olga, Olive, Oliver, Oswald, Otto and Owen. My problem is that I can’t find much in Trove on any of these names.

I’ve chosen Oswald Henry for my post. One of the reasons I’ve had difficulty in finding Oswald is that (I think) his death was registered in 1951 as Oswald Harry Currey  son of Samuel and Louisa Jane. The birth for Oswald H is registered in 1883 with the same spelling….but I’ll not quibble about an in the surname and will share a story or two about Oswald.

I’m positive I have one and the same person as the Oswald Currey listed on the National Archives site.

curryos2http://recordsearch.naa.gov.au/SearchNRetrieve/Interface/ViewImage.aspx?B=3478434 – Attestation Papers Oswald Harry Currey

Oswald wrote from the front in 1916 and described the Christmas activities

curryos4

curryos5

1916 ‘A FIGHTING FAMILY.’,The Maitland Daily Mercury (NSW : 1894 – 1939), 15 January, p. 9. , viewed 12 Apr 2016, http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-article123401080

In 1931 Oswald had some trouble with an employer. Times were tough in the depression era.

curryos6

1931 ‘INDUSTRIAL COURT’, Newcastle Morning Herald and Miners’ Advocate (NSW : 1876 – 1954) , 5 June, p. 6. , viewed 12 Apr 2016, http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-article139641130

A note on Oswald’s military file at The National Archives indicated that, as no known relatives could be found, his funeral was organised by the Adamstown RSL sub-branch.

curryos3

1951 ‘Family Notices’, Newcastle Morning Herald and Miners’ Advocate (NSW : 1876 – 1954) , 13 February, p. 2. , viewed 12 Apr 2016, http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-article139506699

Oswald is buried in Sandgate Cemetery on the outskirts of Newcastle NSW.

curryosbur


 

9 thoughts on “O is for Oswald

  1. Fran

    Still catching up. I should be reading A to Z instead of random feedly posts. I thought I had read some before and commented. Don’t think my iPad comments all survived on some people’s posts.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Pingback: A-Z Roundup | CurryAus

Leave a Reply

