U is for Una

This month I am participating in the A-Z Blogging Challenge where I will endeavour to post on this blog each day. It’s my first attempt at the challenge, I hope that I have the stamina to complete it.

I will be going through the Curry forenames in my surname study database from A-Z and,  as per the event schedule, will share some of the articles I have found on Trove relating to Currys. For problem letters like X and Q I may  resort to Google.


As I approach the finish line with this challenge I am finding myself challenged by more of the letters. I have several Unknown Currys in my list, no male forenames beginning with U and just a sprinkling of female forenames ie Ulrike, Una, Unity and Ursula.

This will be a short post about Una Curry from West Wyalong.

Una’s Fifth Class Exam Results were reported in a local paper. She would have been about 11 years old in 1932.

curryu2
1932 ‘PRIMARY EXAMINATIONS RESULTS’, Daily Advertiser (Wagga Wagga, NSW : 1911 – 1954), 13 December, p. 4. , viewed 14 Apr 2016, http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-article143054815

Una attended The Catholic Ball in West Wyalong in 1938

curryu1
1938 ‘Catholic Ball’, The West Wyalong Advocate (NSW : 1928 – 1954), 1 July, p. 2. , viewed 14 Apr 2016, http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-article185778687

By 1939 Una was working in Sydney and following in her mother’s footsteps.

curryu3
1939 ‘PERSONAL’, The West Wyalong Advocate (NSW : 1928 – 1954), 27 November, p. 1. , viewed 14 Apr 2016, http://nla.gov.au/nla.news-article185703861

Unfortunately I cannot find any more information about Una on Trove or several genealogy databases. I wonder what happened to her. Local resources in West Wyalong may provide an answer.

I may also follow a hunch that Una was actually Agnes Una Curry who married Charles Prideaux at North Sydney in 1941.

 

5 thoughts on “U is for Una

  1. Pingback: A-Z Roundup | CurryAus

Leave a Reply

